Me

With an empty 30 minutes just lingering around before we had to leave for SF this morning and with Mike busy typing emails in the other room, I quickly stripped down to my favorite white tank, set up my tripod near the soft light of our bedroom window and snapped a handful of images using the self timer.

25 minutes later I was dressed and quickly editing them on my computer, while Mike was looking over my shoulder with a completely baffled face, “You just did this?  Where was I??”

It was a great experience to pose and to see the up close and raw results, however all photos no matter the subject, bring some emotion to the viewer.  My emotions were; I think I am beautiful, not a conceited beautiful, but a beautiful that is sincere and well earned, but the flip side was this thought … when did I start getting older?!

I’ve learned through my years of photography that all subjects are a bit critical of their own images and this defect doesn’t diminish even with me, simultaneously being the photographer and the subject.  But I have also learned that if we don’t love who we are now with all of our perfect imperfections, then when will we love ourselves?  Let us all enjoy our individual beauty today and don’t waste a moment on all of the silly nit-picking nonsense!

img_30701img_30692img_30722

3 Responses to “Me”

  1. jessamyn Says:

    very cute, pretty and brave! maybe you should do a photo diary of the process… I bet you’ll look even cuter when it’s all over (hopefully very soon).

  2. kym benedict Says:

    thanks for all of this- all of your sharing. i find myself crying tears of fear, happiness, joy, & gratefulness. Reading your story this morning, and seeing your pictures has opened my heart, it feels like exploding……
    i cried a bit after reading josh’s memories of childhood, wow- it brought me back to a place i haven’t visited, in, it seems like a life time ago.
    All i can say, is that you are, and have always been, an amazing and beautiful soul. Thanks for being a part of my life.
    Lots of love to you and your family-
    Kym Benedict

  3. Dana Says:

    Simply beautiful. These photos brought forth the tears I’d been successfully holding back. You look SO much like my mother did before she went for chemo.

    I’m glad you’ve won this. (mom didn’t) Thank you for telling the story.

Leave a Reply

