Norma the Wig

I bought a wig.

Well, those are words I never thought would come out of my mouth!   I’ve heard from many gals that purchased wigs and never used them, but frankly the $300 in wigs is a small price to pay for some peace of mind as my hair sheds more each day.  And honestly, I was surprised with my experience on trying them on.  I know what you’re thinking because I thought it too; wigs seem icky and creepy!  Trust me it is weird at first, but after a few minutes with the wig on it really starts to look natural and the mind forgets what the head used to look like.  I was pleasantly surprised!

But with all of that said, Mike and I have still had many laughs over the wig.  First of all, I had it on a wire wig stand in the bedroom and every time we walked into the room  it startled us; hence the name Norma.  Paying homage to Norman from Psycho; that is exactly what it felt like seeing it on the stand.  That had to change right away, so I found a little nook to keep it stashed away from our view.

Norma is mostly my “hat wig”.  This way I can wear my hair like I used to with hats, wool caps, pony tail, etc.  And then there is Lucy.  She’s still on order.  She’s my more everyday wig which is styled as a cute bob which I really like alot.   I’ll share pics in a week or so.

I’m not sure how much I’ll wear them but it really gives me peace of mind to know it’s an option, because I don’t want to look like I had cancer!!  Actually I’m still holding onto a glimmer of hope that I’ll defy the chemo drugs and the doctor’s words and my MonaVie soaked body will miraculously keep my hair in tact.  But if it doesn’t, I have abundant choices with my wigs, my beautiful hand-dyed scarves from India (thank you Aunty Deb), my warm and cozy hand-knit caps (thank you Colleen) and many, many more hats.

Blog readers meet Norma, Norma meet the blog readers.

wig

wig-on1

wig-hat

3 Responses to “Norma the Wig”

  1. jessamyn Says:

    not bad at all!
    this post made me realize that you’re “lucky” to be doing the chemo in the wintertime rather than summer… so many more headcovering possibilities! 🙂

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Jayme chuckled at the Norman reference. It looks great. Can’t wait to see the other one.

    Terri

  3. Heather Says:

    Looks great! Can’t even tell you cut all of your hair off. It will be nice for keeping your head warm in the winter time. I love it!

Leave a Reply

