Secure About Insecurities

Yesterday started off like most Mondays with a list of responsibilities, errands and work, however with one phone call from Mike, the day quickly morphed into an ideal day to play hooky and to push aside all of our adult tasks into the remaining days of the week on the calendar.  So Mike and I threw a few essentials into an over-sized beach bag, slathered on sunscreen onto our Spring colored bodies and rushed off to Stinson Beach which had forecasts reporting of a rare 90 degree day!

Once there and unpacked and with me happily poised in my beach chair with my toes digging into the already warm sand, I had to recite my own mantra (more than once); “Showing insecurity is more unattractive than the body part perceived flawed”. Because 12 weeks of chemo, abundant couch time, a bald head, a reconstructed right breast and with visible black X’s strangely marking my body (which did get many second glances) tested my fortitude.  I reminded myself that everyone has some sort of physical insecurity, even those perfectly proportioned, drop dead gorgeous models we see in magazines.  So the message that I was so clearly reminded of yesterday and which I am trying to convey today, is that beauty does not come in the form of a perfect body; beauty comes from many, many attributes including, confidence despite any self-induced insecurity.

beach1

4 Responses to “Secure About Insecurities”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Hi, Megan, hope you had a wonderful day at the beach!! You look great, the big smile is great to see!

  2. Darcy Says:

    Dang, you still look great even after all that you have gone thru! And those “x’s” are kind of a cool tattoo. You inspire me. And you totally deserved a day at the beach.

  3. Stefanie Says:

    I certainly hope my daughters learn some of these things-and being around a woman like you is a definite positive in their lives-enjoy the day!

  4. Julie Says:

    You look as beautiful as ever. YOU are an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

