A Model’s Life

As elusive as I’ve been with my little bald head to most of you, I knew that not photographically documenting this stage of the journey would be looked back upon with regret.  So, with trepidation, excitement and then trepidation again I called upon my friend and very talented photographer Douglas Thompson, who offered up his services way back when, and we embarked on an oddly hot April day to tell a part of my story.

Rewinding about 10 days before the actual photo shoot, we met for a lively 2 hour coffee session in town.  Doug scratched my thoughts and adjectives into his notebook while interjecting his creative interpretation.  We both agreed that the theme of the shoot would be different.  Cheesy grins and pretty poses would be left at home for the amateur.  Douglas took my original vision, pulling it and stretching it like an animal balloon until my idea morphed into something that was just on the fringe of what it originally looked like.  As Douglas molded his vision in his mind he tossed around words that made me squirm; “costume rental”, “generator” and “makeup artist“!  After all, I just wanted something simple, nothing that was too complicated or would take up too much of his busy time.  But I knew I was in good hands and that he would turn this idea into an amazing experience, one that I might never take again.

So, the next week we zipped down to San Francisco and slipped into a costume storage facility that convinced me that Doug must be part of some secret club, because how else would someone know about this place.  With an appointment already set, he rang the building intercom, he gave his name which proved he was “on the list”, we were buzzed into a long narrow corridor where a member of the facility met us at another locked door and then we time-warped our way down stairs and into a massive basement filled with every era of costumes you could ever imagine.  I bumped into Joan of Ark armour as I admired bejeweled Queen Elizabeth style gowns and I smiled at cute WW11 nurse uniforms that were across from 19 Century peasant dresses.  We picked out four randomly odd gowns that fit our vision and exited back into the 21st Century sunshine on Market Street.

With all of this build up and anticipation, I bet you’re frothing at the mouth to see the images now!  Well, that would be too easy, and besides every person that has ever produced a television or radio program knows that one should always leave a good hook to keep the fans coming back for more!  And besides, Doug is still busy editing my favorite pics so I thought I’d take this opportunity to work backwards and show you the behind the scenes before I show you the finished product.  Kind of like watching the making of the movie before you see the movie.  I don’t think doing it in reverse will spoil anything; if anything I hope it will make you more appreciative of the final images, which I promise will be here soon.

{The site.  Somewhere between Napa and Vallejo; between privately owned and Fish & Game monitored.}

img_4317

{We spotted slithery visitors.  Twice!!}

img_4314

{The glamorous life of a model; 98 degrees, no shade and notice the emergency toilet paper.}

img_4319

{With all of the equipment and props in place for my photoshoot, Doug took a second opportunity to photograph a “real” model.}

img_4312

Leave a Reply

