There are no accidents

Standing at Sunday’s finish line, I was snuggled into Mike’s arms and he looked at me and said, “It’s kind of the finish line for all of it. The cancer treatments, the walk, and it’s the end of a big chapter.”  I knew exactly what he was saying and I agreed with a smile and the biggest sigh; a sigh I’ve been holding for nearly 9 months.

Which leads me to what happened when I got home.  I emptied my walking pack, putting my ID and health insurance card back into my wallet, casually noticing how my Kaiser card had become worn.  Permanent blue carbon marks streaked across both sides from being run through the check-in machine so many times.  I settled down to flip through the weekends mail and went directly to an envelope from Kaiser, a learned habit since I’ve become accustomed to the importance of their communication.

Inside the envelope was a new card.  I sat there holding it realizing how profound this meant to me to have a brand new card, free of smudges and scrapes.  I showed Mike and expanded on his earlier comment; I was truly starting a new chapter all the way down to a fresh new health insurance card. Mike said, “The old card was all about cancer and now you have a new card that is healthy.”

There are no accidents in life, including the timing of my new card.  There are good and bad moments and sometimes sad unexplainable losses, but no accidents.

My old card has been cut up, is in the garbage can and will be on the curb for tomorrow’s trash pickup.  Good bye cancer, once and for all!

kaiser card_small

2 Responses to “There are no accidents”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    the given girls wish you all the best in the next chapter of your life!
    i am in awe of what you have gone thru and accomplished in 10 months-
    enjoy the day 😉

  2. Alyssa Says:

    I agree Megan…the timing of you new Kaiser card was no accident. Congratulations and here’s to your healthy new life!

Leave a Reply

