The Chemo Curls

You may have already heard about this little known fact; many times the hair of a chemo patient comes back curly; like a bad perm on Greg or Mr. Brady kind-of-curly, and that is what is happening with my hair.  Each day it grows a touch longer, and after each shower, it curls just a tiny bit more, and I stand in front of the mirror doing my darndest to smooth it out.

Brady Bunch television show

There’s still a question of whether it will eventually straighten over time, some say it will and some say it won’t.  And if it does begin to straighten back to the way it was, the jury is still out on how many months it will take to grow in straight, and why this phenomenon even happens in the first place.  All I know is that there are a lot of curly-haired women in my post BC group!

Of course, having had a time in my life where I had NO hair, this is of course a 1,000 times better so I’m doing my best to not complain, especially since many around me absolutely adore the curls, however I can’t help but think that I’m on the path to look like Baby New Year in about a month, sans the big ears.

baby_new_year

Leave a Reply

